The next General Municipal Election is scheduled for October 20, 2025.

Municipal elections are held every four years at which time residents elect one Mayor and six Councillors to a four year term.  In Whitecourt, Council members are elected at-large, which means the Mayor and Councillors represent the entire population rather than a geographical ward.  Voters choose up to six candidates for Council, and one candidate for Mayor.

The last election was held October 18, 2021 to determine the 2021-2025 Whitecourt Council.